Pages

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Candy Vodka!


I wish I had thought of this!! 

Candy Vodka!

Go and read this post. It's at scarymommy.com
I think we need to have a taste-testing party! 

Ideas? What's your favorite candy?

If ONLY I get get Reese's Cups. Maybe not. 

-Riki

Monday, September 12, 2011

Po' Girl's Garbage Pie

 Quiche! I make this mostly when we have no cash, some eggs and a random assortment of veggies. Frozen or fresh. Starting us off with an onion today! That I'm frying in a little butter. Because I like my onion buttery and cooked! Although when I have time I'd rather candy it. Another entry... So start with your veggies you have to cook down. Let 'em go while you do all this other bs.
 I also had some broccoli in the freezer. A big bowl and in the microwave for 4minutes
 Then you put your 4 eggs,  1/2 cup of flour and 1 1/3cups of milk!
 1/2tspoon of baking powder. This quiche makes its own crust!
 This much garlic powder or 1/4 tsp salt. I don't like to add salt to this. The garlic powder makes me happy though!
 Two large handfuls of cheese, I love p
 Whisk it all together!
 Add your once frozen veggies! Whip again!
 Grease your pan WELL!
 Onions should be done (remember to stir them about through out this process!)
 Add a drop or so of your favorite hot sauce!
 Pour in your pan and add more cheese to the top!
 Cook for 25minutes at 400 degrees for yummy!!!
Enjoy! - Manda

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Good Afternoon, World (Or, "Is it Five O'clock Yet?)

You've been with your darling, perfect (cough, cough) children all day.  Your darling, perfect (cough) husband has been watching the game, "watching" the kids (by this, I mean trying to get them to not stand Right In Front Of The TV, for God's sake!), and talking about having his friends over for a barbecue.  Tomorrow.  At noon.  


You frantically start cleaning the house, compiling a list of "Things Other Than Burgers" that you need for the barbecue -- since guys tend to only think about the meat when planning -- and then you realize --- It's FIVE O'CLOCK!

Cocktail Hour!
So, rather than give up this sacred, soul-affirming activity, you decide to combine it with prep for tomorrow's gathering. 

That's where WE come in.  We're the Happy Hour Cooks, and we multitask in the very best way EVER.  We cook, we relax, we celebrate, and we make snarky comments at each other (as true friends do). 

KATE:
I'm the oldest of the bunch, a mom of 2, wife of a very smart professor-man, and I love to cook.  I am prone to attempting cooking projects that are WAAY out of my league, and sometimes -- to my surprise -- I succeed (chocolate souffles, anyone?).  My biggest issues with cooking are that:
1: I dislike measuring.
2: I forget to time things
3: My kids and hubs are picky about what they'll eat in some ways, so I really have to try hard to find something that they ALL will eat without complaint
4: I dislike complaints

MANDA:
I'm a 26 year old new mom, trying to teach myself to cook decent meals instead of just brownies and cake... Its not going well. (Brownies and cakes are more fun).

Riki:
Wait, why are we telling our ages again?
I'm Riki, mom to 2 elementary age kids who are pretty picky eaters. I love to collect cook books! I fail to use them, but they're so pretty on my shelf.

My hubby and I are always looking to "eat healthy" and lose weight. It seems we get off the healthy eating band-wagon and the pounds creep back on, so we jump back on. Viscous cycle. Anyway, the stuff I cook varies from quite healthy to artery clogging depending on where we are in that cycle. Imagine my kids surprise when they are randomly on a diet again. Sigh. Oh and detrimental to the effort, I bake and decorate cakes. I adore making desserts.

I also have to drink to get the kids through their homework. It just so happens they do homework while I'm cooking dinner. I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.